4 Male Players with most Australian Open titles

4 Male Players With Most Australian Open Titles

The Australian Open is played in January every year at Melbourne Park. It is the first Grand Slam of every tennis calendar. Every player wants to get his hands on the highly cherished Sir Norman Brookes championship trophy. In this article we tell you about the 4 great payers who have succeeded most times down under and won most majors in the 115-year history of this great tournament.  

 NOVAK DJOKOVIC: 8 Australian Open Titles

No other male tennis player has been as successful in this Grand Slam as the current World Number 1. Novak has so far won 8 trophies at the Australian Open. The Serb won this Grand Slam for the first time in 2008. The last of his titles came in this year in 2020 when he defeated Austria’s Dominic Thiem in the final.

Djokovic has been the most dominant and most successful male player in the Open Era at Melbourne Park. He has never lost there in a final making it a record 8-0 win-loss. The World Number 1 now stands at 17 Grand Slam trophies in total. He is looking good for a few more in the future years. 


 4 Male Players with most Australian Open titles
4 Male Players With Most Australian Open Titles

The 20 times Grand Slam winner has been successful at every major tournament. In the Australian Open the Swiss maestro has been a 6-time champion. Federer won his 1st slam in Australia in 2004. He then went on to repeat his success at Melbourne Park in 2006, 2007 and 2010. 

In 2017 the Swiss great ended his 4 year Grand Slam drought in Australia. He beat his greatest rival Rafa Nadal in 5 sets thus winning his 5th title there. The last of Roger’s Australian Open titles came in 2018 when he defended his 2017 title. 

ROY EMERSON: 12 Australian Open Titles

 4 Male Players with most Australian Open titles
4 Male Players With Most Australian Open Titles

Emerson was one of the best male tennis players that ever came from Australia. He won a total of 12 Grand Slams in his career. This remained a record for almost 3 decades before it was surpassed by America’s Pete Sampras. Emerson also has a very solid record at his home Grand Slam. He won the Australian Open 6 times in his illustrious career.

Emerson’s record of 6 titles in Australia also remained untouched for almost 50 years. It was only equaled by Roger Federer in 2017 and later surpassed by Novak Djokovic in 2019. Emerson remains one of the icons of Australian tennis.


Agassi was one of the best tennis players in the 1990s. He was the second player in the Open Era to win a career Grand Slam; the former World Number 1 was an excellent hard court player. He also had great success at the Australian Open championships. Here the American legend won 4 singles titles. 

Andre Agassi won the 1st title in Australia in 1995. He beat fellow American Pete Sampras in a tightly contested final. After that the former World Number 1 would win three more titles down under. These would come in 2000, 2001 and 2003. Agassi retired from tennis with a total in 8 major trophy wins. Andre was one of the best players of his era also inducted in the tennis hall of fame.

You might like :

Enable registration in settings - general
Skip to content