Ashtanga Yoga - All You Need To Know About It

Ashtanga Yoga – All You Need To Know About It

Believe it or not, yoga is taking over the world lately. In this modern world, everyone is super-busy with their tight schedules. Hence, we are neglecting our health. This results in increasing diseases and other health problems. However, taking care of our health and staying fit is a must. And one of the best ways to stay fit is adapting to yoga. Therefore, if you are a yoga enthusiast or if you want to learn yoga – I strongly suggest learning ‘Ashtanga’ yoga.

What is Ashtanga?

The word  ‘ashtanga’ means ‘eight limbs or components.’ It is a word in Sanskrit – an ancient Indian language. Furthermore, this is a form of yoga that originated in India. Hence, it is practiced by millions throughout the world.

Image result for ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga Yoga – All You Need To Know About It

Ashtanga Yoga

If you are not aware of what yoga means, this is a technique of controlling our minds. In other words, it is a combination of meditation and exercises. Moreover, it is an activity where you perform and do various postures.

If we describe ashtanga yoga, it is a fast-paced yoga. In it, we perform a series of postures in the order that has been described by yoga guru – K. Pattabhi Jois.

As the name suggests, it is all about performing yoga using eight components or limbs. In practice, it refers to the following:

Image result for ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga Yoga – All You Need To Know About It


Ashtanga yoga has eight components. They are listed below:

  1. Yama

It is the first limb of ashtanga yoga. It refers to non-violence and also our attitude towards our environment. Its principles include being truthful. Also, non-covetous, non-possessive, and controlling our sexual desire.

  • Niyama

It has five items on the to-do list, which includes cleanliness. It could be of the body, mind, and heart. The other things include contentment, self-study (introspection), worship of our self (self-esteem), and austerity. By Austerity, we do not mean depriving ourselves of essential needs.

  • Asana

‘Asana’ is a Sanskrit word meaning postures. In Ashtanga yoga, it is the ability to sit in the same posture for a longer period without moving.

Ashtanga Yoga - All You Need To Know About It

Ashtanga Yoga – All You Need To Know About It

  • Pranayama

Pranayama is controlling the energy in the body. It is to control and hold our breath in either expanded form or restraint. Moreover, it is believed that if we control our breath, we can control the energy within the body.

  • Pratyahara

In simple terms, it is the withdrawal of senses. In this stage, you move your thoughts from the external world. Then, you try to gain the attention of the self. So simply put, it is to help you have self-awareness.

  • Dharana

Dharana means concentration. In this stage, you concentrate and have one-pointed-focus on attaining spirituality. With this form of yoga, you can develop to have more focus and concentration. As a result, you can work better and efficiently in school or in your workplace.

  • Dhyana

The term ‘dhyana’ means meditation. In this process, you are losing contact with the outside world. Furthermore, you put your entire focus in meditation on God.

  • Samadhi

‘Samadhi’ literally means “to direct together.” This stage is when you are in complete integration and absorption. You stay in a posture with utmost concentration at attaining spirituality.

Best Place To Learn Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga is practiced all over the world. But what better place to learn than the ‘Yoga Capital of the World’ itself? Hence, if you want to learn this form of yoga, I suggest you visit the Indian city of Mysore. It’s around 150 kilometers from the silicon valley of India, Bangalore. Moreover, it’s famous for its historical palace, the majestic – Mysore Palace, apart from Ashtanga yoga. That is why it is tagged as ‘the city of palaces.’


I bet that you will love learning the art of yoga there and have better control over yourself. Moreover, practicing yoga is sure to make you feel better.

[maxbutton id=”1″ url=”” ]

You might like :

Enable registration in settings - general
Skip to content